Birth & Death Records
|Important Note: Starting January 1, 2021, a new vital records law and rules go into effect that changes the ordering requirements for birth and death certificates. For increased security of personal information, only individuals with specific relationships to the person on the record being requested can receive a certified copy.|
Washington State Birth Certificates
For births registered from 1907 to the present, complete the Washington State Certified Birth Certificate Application (PDF). When completed, fax to our office at 360-385-9401 or mail to: Jefferson County Public Health, 615 Sheridan St, Port Townsend, WA 98368.
For certified birth certificates prior to 1907, order online from the Washington State Center for Health Statistics or by calling 360-236-4313.
Washington State Death Certificates
For certified death certificates occurring in Jefferson County from May 15, 2012 to present, complete the Death Certificate Request Form (PDF). When completed, fax to our office at 360-385-9401 or mail to: Jefferson County Public Health, 615 Sheridan St, Port Townsend, WA 98368.
For certified death certificates prior to May 15, 2012, order online from the Washington State Center for Health Statistics or by calling 360-236-4313.
Applications are also available at Jefferson County Public Health.
Certified copies of birth and death certificates cost $25 each and are payable by cash, check or money order made out to Jefferson County Public Health (include an additional $4 for shipping and handling). When paying with credit card, call 360-385-9400. We accept Visa, MasterCard and Discover.
An application must be completed and the fee paid prior to issuance.
A convenience fee will be charged accordingly:
|Fee Amount Owed||Convenience Fee Charged|
|Each additional $100||$2.50|
|e-Checks||$2 (flat fee)|